Harajuku is where trends get made and are showcased. The cool thing about Tokyo is it is totally acceptable to be unique and different and no one bats an eye. Not at all like the US. In general, people in Tokyo are well dressed in name brands and girls are always rocking heels (much like Seoul). However, there's also a bunch of people who still wear Kimonos and the wooden flip flops everywhere, even in this humid heat. Then there's all the others who buy their wardrobes in Harajuku. You'll see people dressed just plain goofy like they raided a kid's playclothes chest, super goth kids in leather and platforms, urban streetwear (like William), girls in full Victoria dresses complete with petticoats and umbrellas, body piercings under the skin to make bump formations on people's face, dreads, etc. There's really no rhyme or reason, it's kind of anything goes and it's funny seeing all the fashions mixed up on the subway.
Here are some examples of the weird fashions. There were definitely stranger outfits but Will felt weird taking people's pictures without asking as they were walking down the street.
We stopped for a quick lunch while we were there and both had yummy tempura and udon.Then it was major shopping time for Will! There are a TON of streetwear and sneaker stores in Harajuku and they are all really close together in the same neighborhood so that was really convenient! Some of the brands are Japanese brands that are only sold in Japan and so that was neat for Will to be able to get some stuff. Also, many of the brands that Will can find back home in the US sell specific items that are exclusive to Japan so Will was able to get some new clothes that also doubled as souvenirs! Here's just a few of the stores Will visited! He was a happy kid today. On a random note, Japanese people are really nice. Will saw some teenagers holding a bag from a store he wanted to go to but wasn't sure where it was located. When we asked them where it was, they didn't know enough English to explain how to get there so they told us to follow them. They walked us all the way to the store which was a good 20min walk! I thought that was the nicest thing!!
Another random thing we saw today was a place called Soap Land that our friend Isaac told us about. It is a "massage parlor" where boys get naked and then a naked girl gets on top covered in soap and massages you with her breasts. This is totally legal though because no sex is involved and it is just a massage. The Japanese are total perverts. I couldn't find Will for a little while when I was looking into some shops and then I turned around and saw him coming out of this place.
Later, we random into this coke promotion thing going on where you had to put this sword into the ice can (in the picture behind Will, to the right) and see if this coke thing popped out. If it did, you won a prize. Of course, Will always has the best luck and won! He won a huge Coke can with Coca-Cola flip flops inside! I guess I shouldn't tell you about this in case someone gets it as a souvenir re-gift...
After dropping our purchases at the hotel, we were off to see a Jewels fighting event in Shinjuku. As many of you know, Will & I are really into MMA fighting. If you don't know what MMA is, then maybe you've heard of the UFC. The UFC is the MMA promotion in the United States. Lots of people get bad impressions of MMA fighting because of the UFC but MMA is actually really huge in other countries and way more awesome. Japan has really great MMA promotions and so Will definitely wanted to see a fight while we were in town. Unfortunately, the only thing going on while we were here in Tokyo was a Jewels Event. Jewels is unique because it is a female MMA promotion. So while female MMA fighting isn't of particular interest to us, we still wanted to watch a fight! Anyways, we got tickets (with the help of Isaac) and went tonight and it was awesome!! It was kinda weird because it was in a really small venue. It felt like we were in some underground Fight Club like in the movie. However, the fights were great and we had an awesome time!
On the way home, Will & I were starving and had a late dinner. It has been my favorite meal so far in Tokyo! They're called Oishii noodles and it was at a restaurant called Kamakura. They were so freaking yummy!!!!! They don't look like much but they are so tasty and apparently a lot of celebrities eat there even though it's very casual. They're noodles with roast pork in the most delicious broth. I've never tasted anything like it but I'm assuming it's a pork broth which I've never had before but is apparently a genius idea! My dad would LOVE them! Will & I just might have to make a return trip before we leave.
No comments:
Post a Comment