Here's a picture of Will getting weighed and me getting on the plane.
There's Boracay from the plane!!
Now when we landed, we were told the bad news that our luggage hadn't arrived. It wasn't just our luggage but our entire flight's!! We were so pissed because apparently Cebu Pacific does this quite often because the plane can't handle all of the weight. However, our flight wasn't full so basically any flight half full gets the shaft so they still make their money but you have to wait for your stuff. My brother and dad came on a flight later in the afternoon and their flight was pretty empty and therefore got their luggage. Anyways, I thought this was totally lame-o but they promised to bring our stuff that evening. Lesson learned: don't fly with
Cebu Pacific anymore.
Now there is no airport on Boracay itself, so we landed at the Caticlan airport. From there, we took a short van ride to the jetty port. Here you board a banca boat for about 15 mins to actually get you to the island.
Once on the island, we took a mini jeepney (common Filipino transport) to our actual resort, the Boracay Regency.
Once we got to the hotel, our options were a little limited since we didn't have our swimsuits or anything (grRrrRr!!). We took a small trike ride (photo to follow later b/c these are cool) to D'Mall where there are lots of restaurants and shops. For lunch, Will had some delicious grilled chicken and I had the most delicious grilled pork on a stick of some sort. Yummy! It was only $6 for both of our meals!
We walked up and down the beach and their equivalent to a boardwalk type area checking out all of the options for activities and such. The water is so warm, beautiful and clear and the sand is soft and white, hence the name of the beach, White Beach. It was so beautiful!!
Afterwards, we decided to get a massage on the beach. It was an hour long and was great and only $8!!!!! Ahhh, I could get used to this.
Later, we went to dinner. We went to this area like d'Talipapa. It's a market area with a wet market which means it sells all types of seafood and raw meat. This place was awesome!! There were HUGE lobsters that were the size of a big cat with a bunch of skinny claws that looked like antennas. They didn't have the big claws at all. Anyways, you can buy whatever seafood, meat, and veggies that you want and you can take it to any of the restaurants next door and you pay them to cook it for you. You just choose the style of cooking (grilled, steamed, etc.) and the flavor. We had tons of food: shrimp, the freshest mussels I have ever tasted, fish, oysters, chicken, squid, and some other seafood, I can't even remember what it was called. It was all sooooooo good and all of that food plus a whole bunch of beers and mango shakes only came to like $10 a person!! Seriously awesome!!
It's only the first day and I love Boracay already. I haven't even put my swimsuit on yet but thank goodness our luggage arrived while we were at dinner. Tomorrow: scuba diving!!!
- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad
No comments:
Post a Comment