Monday, August 15, 2011

Wind of change...

Just want to say thanks to our guest blogger. Today our morning started off with checking out of our hotel. We had the day to kill until we had to take the shuttle to the airport. At this point both of us almost have blisters on our feet from all of our walking around. We had seen all we wanted to see in Moscow and were tired. We decided that going to a movie would be a good way to kill some time and relax but we had seen everything they had out. We walked around an outdoor market for a while. They sold everyday essentials like underwear, jeans, pots and pans, and shoes.






Next we went to the one last place that was still on our to-do list. We walked along the Moskva down to Gorky Park. This park was awesome and massive!! There were vintage amusement park rides, midway games, a cool fountain, random ping pong tables set up, restaurants, and funky seating like huge bean bag chairs amongst the trees. It was really pretty and and a neat place to relax.














Will took to the stage and was a hit!!




Then we had lunch at a pizza and pasta place. Pizza in Russia? That may sound weird but apparently Muscovites eat a lot of pizza. It's hard to describe their cuisine. There are surprisingly not a lot of restaurants around, not even in the most touristy places and from what we saw I couldn't really figure out was Russian food really was. We ate a lot of doner kabobs but other than that every restaurant seemed to serve pizza, funky pasta, and some type of herring and borsch. Oh, and there are tons of sushi restaurants. I don't know what is typically Russian otherwise but we decided pizza was worth trying. It was actually really good pizza. Then we took the aerotrain shuttle to the airport and that is where we are now.




Other fun Moscow facts:
1. Muscovites LOVE PDA. Like full on making out like they are about to die Romeo and Juliet style.
2. Lots of people rock the mullet. Male and female.
3. The people here aren't very warm and friendly. They aren't mean but they have stone cold faces. We think that's because they don't get to have much fun. We noticed that there aren't a lot of restaurants and hardly any coffee shops or dessert places or any type of leisurely locales. Everyone seems to just sit around in parks or on public benches and hang out, sleep, or make out.
4. Will and I are constantly reminded of how spoiled we are as Americans. We have definitely missed ice, cold anything (mostly a/c), drinks larger than a Dixie cup, toilet paper that is not dispensed one square at time and single ply, and diverse food and drink selection.

We are sitting on the ground in a small section of the airport that is air-conditioned because the rest of this place is hot and muggy. We also have some rubles left over so maybe we will get some vodka for the flight or a cheeseburger out of a vending machine. We had a great time in Moscow and are really glad we came. However, it was the perfect place to do a layover because in our opinion, you don't need more than a few days here!
Also, it seems like the entire town is under construction, possibly for the World Cup. It'll be interesting to see how much things change before then.







When we land in the morning, we'll be in Beijing!
Dasvadanya Moscow!!!



- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

No comments:

Post a Comment