This morning we woke up and left our hotel in Mykonos and took the ferry
to Santorini. The ferry was late and of course took almost an hour
longer than it was supposed to take. This kind of laid back timing and
structure to everything is one of the things that I notice the most
differs from country to country. Here everything is on such a laid back
time and what happens, happens. This is unlike the US where things are
pretty organized and unlike Japan where buses are on time to the
minute. Anyways, once our ferry landed in Santorini, we took a bus to
the center of Fira. From here, we had lunch at a really beautiful
restaurant overlooking the town (that was also super delicious!!) and emailed our hotel to pick us up.
While it is only like a 10 minute walk, it is SUPER hot (especially with
our backpacks on) and since the hotel offers a free pick up from the
center of town, we decided to take them up on it.
After checking into our hotel, we walked back to the center of Fira.
Santorini is exactly how you picture Greece to look. It's the
stereotypically view you get from pictures and from the movies. Shops
and restaurants all built on a hill with the most beautiful views. I
loved Athens and Mykonos a lot but Santorini was exactly how I pictured
it. We spent the entire rest of the day walking around the town, getting authentic Greek yogurt, and exploring the little shops.
There were all kinds of fun stores and we eventually had dinner at this
restaurant that had the most beautiful view. We also saw the donkeys
that make the ride up the cliff but we didn't ride them. While I think
it'd be a really neat experience, I feel bad for the donkeys. Actually,
we didn't see any people on them. I think with the new(er) cable car
to the top, few people take them anymore.
Afterwards we got some frozen yogurt for dessert. The frozen yogurt
and even the regular Greek yogurt is so freaking good. So much better
than any Greek yogurt at home. It was so good we had it twice in one day
and chose it over ice cream and crepes. Who have we become?!?
On the walk home we decided to rent an ATV while we are here. In
Mykonos and in Santorini there are cars but most people ride motor bikes
and ATVs. While they have a bus system here much like Mykonos, we
decided to rent an ATV to get around. Santorini is much more spread out
than Mykonos is and it will be nice to have the freedom to check out
all of the beaches that spam across the island, on our own time table.
We opted for the ATV because the drivers here are insane and ATV seems
much safer. Will had never driven at ATV before but his 30second lesson
from a man who barely spoke English seems to have sufficed. It was
also 10:30 at night so I used my iPhone light to help Will see all the
buttons. When Will asked where the fuel gauge was, the man just opened
the gas tank and told us to look inside. Ha! So tomorrow, we are off
in our ATV to the beach!
Side note: Every single meal we have had here has been awesome. Not
just good, but seriously amazing. We can't get over how much we love
the food here!
No comments:
Post a Comment