Will took one but I didn't as I don't normally get sea sick. As we were departing, it was starting to rain a little so we put our water ponchos on and got on the boat. It was one memorable boat ride. Through my trip research, I knew that this boat ride could be a little bumpy. I had heard that the route to Phi Phi was often a little choppy during the rainy season and that some companies didn't even do routes to this island during the season and instead went to many of the other beautiful islands around. However, I also knew plenty of companies still went and I searched #phiphiisland on Instagram and saw lots of fun and beautiful pictures being posted on a daily basis so I figured it couldn't be that bad. Well, I was wrong. The boat ride was BAD. And this is coming from someone who is very laid back, adventurous, and not a worrier. And while I was never truly in fear of my life or anything, I did think it was a possibility we could flip over and so I did wear my life jacket, just in case we went overboard. This boat ride was no joke. It was pouring once we got out on the water and while the boat was covered, we were hitting such huge waves that it bucket loads of water were being slapped across my face every 5-10 seconds as we made our way through some treacherous waters. It felt like the Perfect Storm. The water was so bad I had to keep my eyes closed because otherwise my contacts would have probably fallen out. About 45 minutes into it, I was feeling like shit and the rain had stopped so I finally opened my eyes. Everyone around me (who started the boat ride happy and laughing), looked miserable and at least half of the boat had barf bags in their hands. The site of everyone else being sick and the ridiculous ride made me reach for one and I got sick as well. Eck! I looked at Will (who wasn't sitting next to me since we were last on the boat), and he looked miserable. It was officially the worst transportation experience of my life. However, as soon as we approached "monkey island," the water was calm, the rain had stopped, and everything looked beautiful. I looked out of the boat and saw the most adorable monkeys running around a little uninhabited beach and while I was so excited to see them, I was still feeling nauseous and didn't have the energy to find my camera in my backpack (which was SOAKED). We just drove by the island but didn't get out because apparently the monkeys are pretty aggressive. There were a few people who were on the island trying to feed the monkeys but most of the other boats were just getting close by like ours, just to get a picture. Since I didn't get one, here's one from google. This is exactly what it looked like. :)

After leaving this, we went to an area around Phi Phi Don and went snorkeling. While Will and I have both scuba dived before and loved it, we had never snorkeled. It was way more fun than I thought and there were so many beautiful fish. We originally planned on using Will's iPod as our underwater camera since we got this waterproof pouch to swim with but his iPod died from water damage in the ridiculous boat ride over. And this is with his iPod in his pocket, under a water poncho!! Anyways, all we had left to take pictures was my iPhone6 and since I actually use that as my phone, I didn't want to risk taking pictures of fish with it so we don't have any. :( It was really fun though and I'm all about snorkeling again now. It's just so much easier than scubaing and takes so much less time and set-up.
After snorkeling, we stopped at various smaller islands to eat lunch, take a picture with a monkey, and just hang out.
The few pictures we did get didn't do it justice because the condensation in our water camera bag ruined the colors. It was so pretty to see the amazing water an all the mountains around. It was as pretty as I remembered but I was so excited to have Will experience it with me! Once we got back, we were exhausted but we went out for a romantic dinner at a seafood restaurant and it was delicious!
No comments:
Post a Comment