Saturday, August 8, 2015

London: calling all the foodies

Last night we got in to London pretty late and basically just took the Tube to our hotel and got a good night's sleep.  Our flight by the way felt like no time because both Will and I slept almost the entire flight so it felt so easy peasey. 

Anyways, this morning we woke rested and ready to take on the day!  Since we were in London just two years ago, we're skipping the touristy stuff and just enjoying a few days in the city eating and shopping. The last time we came, we didn't love London. I appreciated that it was an awesome city with great food and culture but it felt like a NYC with a British accent. It was the first stop on a multi-city Europe trip and it just didn't seem "European" or different enough.  However, this time around, after being in Thailand, we embraced the Western conveniences and the diversity of food!! 

First we went to Borough Market which was awesome!! It was a beautiful framers market but they also have a bunch of food vendors with the most delicious offerings! We got a goat meat kofta gyro and a venison burger as well as banoffee pie (soooooooo good, bananas and caramel) and tons of little snacks and drinks in between. Yum!
Banoffee Pie!!! I LOVE YOU!

After Borough Market, we went to the Shoreditch neighborhood to hit up some stores for Will.  It's a newer, hip spot with lots of trendy little restaurants, bars, and shops. 

Then we passed a food truck festival on the way to the next market at Old Spitalfields. See the serious food love going on?!  Here at this market, there was a lot of food stalls but there were also tons of clothes, vinyls, and other accessories for sale. 

Then we took the tube to Shepherd's Bush which is an interesting area. To one direction is Westfield's Mall which is super fancy shopping mall with all the luxury brands as well as tons of fancy restaurants. Then to the other direction there are a million Arab restaurants and it's clear you are in more of an immigrant community. We took advantage of both. 

We went to the more middle class area and went to the movies to see "The Gift" which was pretty entertaining. The weird thing about the theater though was the aisle went down the center of the theater basically eliminating all the best seats. Weird. Then we went to a "pound store" which is the equivalent to the dollar store in America. It was pretty great because we got to try all these British snacks and candy for cheap. They even had these huge toblerone bars there!

Afterwards, we went to the nice Westfield's Mall area. Here we went to Italian by Jamie which is, you guessed it, is an Italian restaurant by celebrity chef, Jamie Oliver. It was delicious!  We got a charcuterie plank, a crab and avocado bruschetta, bolognese pasta, and carbonara. Everything was delicious!  So so good. Then we went back to our hotel because we were pooped!





*pardon the weird layouts, fonts, & photo justification that might occur. This was written from my iPhone and the blogger app stinks!

No comments:

Post a Comment