Thursday, August 8, 2013

A rude wake-up call and heading to Italy...

So we had to wake up really early today because we were leaving Barcelona and flying to Rome.  We must have really enjoyed our lux digs here in Barcelona because somehow we all slept through our alarms.  Or more likely, half of us didn't even set an alarm and was relying on others to wake them up.  Either way, I did set my alarm for 5:30am, knowing we needed to get out the door by 6:00am.  I remember my alarm going off and I *thought* I had was just lying in bed for 2-3 minutes giving myself a moment to wake up, when all of a sudden, I hear Will panicking, "We have to go!"  Well he was right.  We literally had 7 minutes to get out the door and no one else was even awake.  Will rushed to wake up the others who frantically were getting ready to go and my brother David looked at the time and just declared he wasn't going to be able to make it (he still had laundry in the machine), and he'd meet us at the airport.  Leaving David behind, the rest of us frantically ran to the train stop where we'd catch the train to the airport.  We were RUNNING with our huge backpacks and got there seconds before the train arrived but Kevin was no where to be found!  David had his train ticket so he was held up at the turnstile having to get a new ticket.  The rest of us were so bummed to have to watch the train leave us while we were waiting for Kevin.  Until.... 2 minutes later the actual correct train that was going to the airport showed up!!  It was actually great luck that Kevin was held up otherwise we would've gotten on the wrong train!!

Anyways, after making it to the airport right on time, we flew to Rome.  David had already arrived because he was on a non-stop flight while ours stopped in Frankfurt for a quick layover.  Upon getting there, we jumped into a cab to get to our AirBNB apartment.  https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/984539
It was in an Trastevere which was an awesome location with lots of happening stuff but still on a side street that was quiet.  The best part though was the fact that we could literally walk to EVERYTHING in Rome and we didn't need to use public transit (which in Rome is very limited) at all except to get to the train station and airport!  Highly recommend Trastevere!

After settling in, we went to lunch as some little local place and had some pizzas.  Pretty good but nothing to write home about.  Then we went to the Piazza Novona, the Trevi Fountain, and had dinner around there.  Dinner was delicious although we were all tired and ready to get some rest!


















No comments:

Post a Comment